Short for photograph, a photo is a picture taken by a camera, digital camera, or smartphone that produces a hard copy or digital copy. For example, in the photo is an example of a computer mouse with two buttons and a wheel.

Photograph history

Below is the View from the Window at Le Gras from Joseph Nicéphore Niépce taken in 1826 or 1827 and is the oldest surviving picture.

Graphic, Image, Photoshop terms, Picture, Selfie, Stock photo, Video terms

  • How to download an app, file, or program from the Internet.
  • How to send an attachment or photo through e-mail.
  • What program can I use to view, edit, or create images?
  • Where to post my pictures, movies, or other files online for free.
  • What services can I use to store and print my digital images?
  • Where can I find free public domain images and pictures?
  • How to create a photo slide show.
  • What’s the difference between an image, photo, and a picture?
  • Image help and support.